DIY · Fashion · Sewing

July 4th Make! *Butterick 6349*

Hello lovely fashionistas! Happy 4th to all my US people. This year I enjoyed making this dress with some patriotic fabrics I got from Joann’s. I had planned on making a top with fabric colors from my Cameroon  as well (green red and yellow), but that did not work out. I would still love to do that in the near future.

The pattern I used for this dress,  Butterick 6349 was in my stash and was perfect for this project. I know stripes are very o trend now and nothing says stripes like this holiday so it was easy to go from there. I’ll include a full review, keep scrolling!3578Col112Col213Col3

Pattern Description: 
Misses’ handkerchief or Straight-Hem Dresses with v-neck

Pattern Sizing:
4 to 26. I Cut the 14

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy, this is a quick sew.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This pattern is great, nothing but love from me

Fabric Used: Patriotic cotton fabric from Joann’s. Nice and soft, no too stiff like some quilting cottons.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The way the handkerchief edge is designed, the slip is supposed to peek through on the sides, I used a different fabric for my slip so i just made a 1.5 inch double hem to shorten it and omit the hem band. One less thing to cut. I had to shorten the straps about 1 inch but all else worked great. Can’t go wrong with a loose fitting dress like this one.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I definitely will.

InsideOut1014

Styled this outfit for a barbecue on a hot sunny day in MN. Loving this weather, the light was on point! Until next time, peace love and kisses ♥

 

10 thoughts on “July 4th Make! *Butterick 6349*

  1. So Cute! I am in MN too and, dang….it was hot today! You look breezy and cool in this though! Thanks for the great review and pics 🙂 Michele in MN too

    Like

Leave a comment