Life Updates

DIY of The Day: Monday

Hello my lovely fashion people! I hope everyone had a great weekend and continues into a great week. Mondays are my new favorite day, because I get to post new projects. I spent all weekend sewing and will definitely share those projects when they are done. I am excited to share a couple of things today.

McCall’s 6844 is a perfect piece for any closet. It is so versatile, can be made with various weights of knit fabric and I had a great time making it. It was simple to sew, and the pattern instructions were great. The first time I tried making it, I cut one size too big and did not like the finished product. So I packed it away with all my other projects which went left lol. Then I found this great sweater knit which I loved, cut the right size out and it came out beautifully the second time.

DSC_0661

View C!

DSC_0667DSC_0650DSC_0669DSC_0659DSC_0655DSC_0675DSC_0678

 

My idea is to bring a healthy happy balance between making clothing with popular African fabrics (like Ankara, Lace, Kente, Damas and the like), and the vast variety of patterned and plain fabrics I have discovered here in the US. It is only right to throw in an African design into the post. The next dress I post is of a beautiful design I had created and got made for me when i was visiting Cameroon in December 2014. One of my favorite pieces for a formal occasions or even for church in the summer.

DSC_0768DSC_0769DSC_0799DSC_0781DSC_0778DSC_0786DSC_0785DSC_0776

I love the high-low look and know it can be applied in so many creative ways to clothing and will definitely try my hand at it soon.

 

Hope you enjoyed the post for today and as always; Peace, Love ♥ and Kisses!

2 thoughts on “DIY of The Day: Monday

Leave a comment